DRCNetDrug Reform Coordination Network


New York Needle Bills Need Your Support!

On Feb. 1, Senators Montgomery, Babbush, Galiber, Markowitz, Santiago and Waldon introduced S.B. 1998, "AN ACT to amend the public health law, the general business law and the insurance law, in relation to the sale and possession of hypodermic syringes and needles." The bill, which would repeal laws banning non-prescription sale and possesion of hypodermics. has been referred to the Committee on Health.

The corresponding Assembly bill, A.B. 2810, was introduced by Assembly members Gottfried, Murtaugh, Diaz, Glick and Greene, and multi-sponsored by Barbaro, Brennan, Clark, Cook, Dinowitz, Dugan, Genovesi, Grannis, John, Katz, Lopez, Ramirez, Rivera, Stringer, Towns and Vann. It was referred to the Committee on Health and passed out to the Committee on Codes (which meets on Tuesdays at 11:30 a.m. in Room 630 of the Capitol).

Please contact:

Sen. Kemp Hannon (R-C; 6th District, part of Nassau), Chair
District: 1600 Stewart Ave., Suite 315, Westbury, NY 11590 516-222-0068
Albany: 707 Legislative Office Building (LOB), Albany, NY 12247 (SEND MAIL HERE) 518-455-2200

Sen. Charles D. Cook (R; 40th District, Delaware, Greene, Sullivan, parts of Orange, Ulster)
District: Box 351, Delhi, NY 13753 607-746-6675
Albany: 512 LOB, Albany, NY 12247 518-455-3181

Sen. Hugh T. Farley (R-C; 44th District, Fulton, Montgomery, Schenectady and part of Saratoga)
District and Albany: 412 LOB, Albany, NY 12247 518-455-2181

Sen. John R. Kuhl, Jr. (R-C; 52nd District, Chemung, Schuyler, Steuben, Yates, parts of Ontario, Tompkins) District: P.O. Box 153, 18 Buell Street, Bath, NY 14810 607-776-4111
Albany: 310 LOB, Albany, NY 12247 518-455-2091

Sen. Thomas W. Libous (R-C; 51st District, Broome, Tioga, part of Chenango)
District: 1607 State Office Building (SOB), 44 Hawley Street, Binghamton, NY 13901 607-773-8771 Albany: 815 LOB, Albany, NY 12247 518-455-2677

Sen. John A. DeFrancisco (R-I; 49th District, part of Onondaga)
District: 804 SOB, 333 East Washington Street, Syracuse, NY 13202 315-428-7632
Albany: 903 LOB, Albany, NY 12247 518-455-3511

Sen. Nicholas A. Spano (R-C; 35th Senatorial District, part of Westchester)
District: 1 Executive Blvd., Yonkers, NY 10701 914-969-5194
Albany: 509 LOB, Albany, NY 12247 (SEND ALL MAIL HERE) 518-455-2231

Sen. Joseph R. Holland (R-C; 38th District, Rockland and part of Orange)
District: 150 Airport Executive Park, Nanuet, NY 10954 (SEND MAIL HERE) 914-425-1818
Albany: 848 LOB, Albany, NY 12247 518-455-3261

Sen. Richard A. Dollinger (D; 54th District, part of Monroe), Ranking Minority Member
District: 339 East Avenue, Rochester, NY 14604 716-546-6890
Albany: 604 LOB, Albany, NY 12247 518-455-2691

Sen. Velmanette Montgomery (D; 18th Senatorial District, part of Kings)
District: 70 Lafayette Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11217 718-643-6140
Albany: 306 LOB, Alabny, NY 12247 518-455-3451

Sen. Martin M. Solomon (D; 22nd District, part of Kings)
District: 2346 86th Street, Brooklyn, NY 11214 (SEND MAIL HERE) 718-449-1443
Albany: 408 LOB, Albany, NY 12247 518-455-2437

Sen. Marty Markowitz (D; 20th District, part of Kings)
District: 572 Flatbush Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11225 718-284-4700
Albany: 406 LOB, Albany, NY 12247 518-455-2431

Sen. Catherine Abate (D-L; 27th District, part of New York)
District: Room 608 A, 270 Broadway, New York, NY 10007 212-417-5504
Albany: 415 LOB, Albany, NY 12247 518-455-2451

Assemb. Joseph R. Lentol (D; 50th District, part of Kings), Chair
District: 619 Lorimer Street, Brooklyn, NY 11211 718-383-7474
Albany: 632 LOB, Albany, NY 12248 518-455-4477

Assemb. Robin L. Schimminger (D; 140th District, part of Erie)
District: 3514 Delaware Avenue, Suite 201, Kenmore, NY 14217 716-873-2540
Albany: 847 LOB, Albany, NY 12248 518-455-4767

Assemb. Helene E. Weinstein (D; 41st District, part of Kings)
District: 3520 Nostrand Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11229 718-648-4700
Albany: 831 LOB, Albany, NY 12248 518-455-5462

Assemb. Daniel L. Feldman (D; 45th District, part of Kings)
District: 1227 Avenue U, 2nd Floor, Brooklyn, NY 11229 718-375-0770
Albany: 526 LOB, Albany, NY 12248 518-455-5214

Assemb. Clarence Norman, Jr. (D; 43rd District, part of Kings)
District: 854 Nostrand Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11225 718-756-1776
Albany: 741 LOB, Albany, NY 12248 518-455-5262

Assemb. James F. Brennan (D; 44th District, part of Kings)
District: 416 7th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11215 718-788-7221
Albany: 826 LOB, Albany, NY 12248 518-455-5377

Assemb. Larry B. Seabrook (D; 83rd District, part of Bronx)
District: 3677 White Plains Road, Bronx, NY 10467 718-547-8854
Albany: 704 LOB, Albany, NY 12248 518-455-4800

Assemb. Roberto Ramirez (D; 78th District, part of Bronx)
District: 2488 Grand Concourse, Room 417, Bronx, NY 10458 718-933-2204
Albany: 553 LOB, Albany, NY 12248 518-455-5414

Assemb. Frank J. Barbaro (D; 47th District, part of Kings)
District: 211 Kings Highway, Brooklyn, NY 11223 718-236-1598 Albany: 713 LOB,
Albany, NY 12248 518-455-5828

Assemb. Susan V. John (D; 131st District, part of Monroe)
District: 792 South Clinton, Rochester, NY 14620 716-244-5255
Albany: 637 LOB, Albany, NY 12248 518-455-4407

Assemb. Keith L. Wright (D; 70th District, part of New York)
District: 163 West 125th Street, Suite 920, New York, NY 10027 212-866-5809
Albany: 441 LOB, Albany, NY 12248 518-455-4793

Assemb. Gregory W. Meeks (D; 31st District, part of Queens)
District: 21-17 Mott Avenue, Far Rockaway, NY 11691 718-337-4343
Albany: 430 LOB, Albany, NY 12248 518-455-5668

Assemb. Jules Polonetsky (D; 46th District, part of Kings)
District: 2971 Ocean Parkway, Brooklyn, NY 11235 718-646-5550
Albany: 528 LOB, Albany, NY 12248 518-455-4811

Assemb. James P. King (R; 109th District, parts of Essex, Clinton, Warren and Franklin), Ranking Minority Member
District: 21 Bay Street, Glens Falls, NY 12801 518-792-4546
Albany: 722 LOB, Albany, NY 12248 518-455-5565

Assemb. John J. Flanagan (R; 9th District, part of Suffolk)
District: 75 Woodbine Avenue, Northport, NY 11768 516-261-4151
Albany: 443 LOB, Albany, NY 12248 518-455-5952

Assemb. Michael A. Balboni (R; 9th District, part of Nassau)
District: 1600 Stewart Avenue, Suite 315, Westbury, NY 11590 516-222-0007
Albany: 937 LOB, Albany, NY 12248 518-455-5341

Assemb. David R. Townsend, Jr. (R; 115th District, part of Oneida)
District: 1310 1/2 Utica Street, PO Box C, Oriskany, NY 13424 315-736-8823
Albany: 534 LOB, Albany, NY 12248 518-455-5334

Assemb. Vincent T. Muscarella (R; 22nd District, part of Nassau)
District: 925 Hempstead Turnpike, Franklin Square, NY 11010 516-437-5577
Albany: 533 LOB, Albany, NY 12248 518-455-4627

Foundation for Drug Policy Awareness / Drug Reform Coordination Network
P.O. Box 381813, Cambridge, MA 02238-1813
(617) 648-2655 / (617) 646-2713 (fax)
email: [email protected]

If you like what you see here and want to get these bulletins by e-mail, please fill out our quick signup form at http://www.drcnet.org/signup.html.

Click to sign up now

Return to Rapid-Response-Team Chronological Listing

Drug Reform Coordination Network